Above the road the ruins of a small church dated to the end of the C4 are still visible. Beneath it is a rock-cut cistern. On the south and south-east are the remains of a little monastery. The remnants of the mosaic floor are on display at Capernaum.
To replace this chapel, put out of commission in the C7, a new church was built in 1938 further up the hill, on what is today called the Mount of Beatitudes. The octagonal shape of the church commemorates the eight beatitudes (Matt.5:3-10) and conveys an impression of immense tranquility. Its shady gallery is the best place from which to contemplate the spiritual dimension of the lake; one can see virtually all the places in which Jesus lived and worked.
Source: The Holy Land by Jerome Murphy-O’Connor